Belgian Buns

Today I completed my Chemistry exam. I had been filling ever spare second of my time studying for it, and now I’m free 🙂 There’s an indescribable feeling that comes with that: “I can do whatever I want!!” So I chose baking! I don’t know about you, but completing something makes me yearn for a reward of some kind. When I struggled with Maths at school, my teacher would give me extra homework to get my understanding levels up, and terrible as it is, I’d have a triple chocolate donut when I finished. I came out of the exam craving a belgian bun, so I guess I haven’t changed!

To make them yourself and reward yourself for anything you think you deserve rewarding for, you’ll need:

  • 500g (2 cups) white flour, plus extra for dusting table
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 x 7g sachet fact-action dried yeast
  • 300ml (½pt) semi skimmed milk
  • 75g (3oz) unsalted butter
  • 1 medium egg
  • 75g (3oz) soft brown sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 100g (4oz) currants
  • 50g (2oz) dried mixed fruit

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

