How to Quit Worrying About Life

I used to be a worryer. I would fret and fret about what to do in my future. I still can sometimes feel my mind pulling me to that place of anxiety, because I haven’t got a plan.

See, it’s hard for me to confidently choose a direction to take my life on. Being 16 and 18 was the worst! Who decided that would be a good age to make everyone choose their future path? Nobody knows at that age! They might know the subject they get the highest grades in, or the subject that is most easy for them. But just because you’re good at something, doesn’t mean you should do that for the rest of your life. What if you don’t enjoy it, because you actually enjoy a challenge? What if, you’re good at lots of different subjects? I got A grades in Science, Maths, English, Geography, German, Art, Graphic Design. Hardly narrows down my life career does it?

I stressed for ages about a university degree. Ages and ages. I’m a “fency” person. I’ve realised this lately. I never fully commit to one thing, because I haven’t fully let go of another thing. I don’t know if I’m alone in this. Probably not. My advice for people like me? Well, one, find out what you’re afraid of in making confident decisions whether it be a fear of rejection by people, or fear of making the wrong choice and failing. And two, Just choose something for a season. Or do spend a little time on each thing you love. I admire people that straight up choose a degree that sets them up for a career, and they do that for life. I ask these people if they’d do the same if they had the chance of a do-over.

Would you have made different decisions if you could start again? What would you prioritise instead? Do you have another side of you that you’ve not explored? Indulge your creative side. Start your own business. Work abroad. Learn a language. There’s plenty of options to spice up your working life. Don’t wait til you have more time!

What made me quit worrying, number one, was knowing that whatever I do, I am loved for who I am.

Two, being a successful person, is not where I get my degree from, or my grade, or how many cars I have, or my annual salary. It’s doing whatever you do to the best of your ability, and doing the things you enjoy, being present in the moment, making memories, having quality relationships, feeling fulfilled.

Three, it’s knowing you’ll get there. Each time period in your life, for example, the studying section, the working section, the building family section, the retirement etc, they’re all seasons, and you’ll experience each. Don’t worry that you’re not in the same “section” as friends your age. I went off to school in America, and all my friends are graduating university this year, or getting married, or having babies, or moving out. That’s not where I’m at, and that’s okay. My story is my story. Yours is yours. If everyone’s story was the same, no one would read it. You wouldn’t be as interesting. What makes you fascinating is being unique.

Which brings me to my fourth point. Don’t worry because you’re different. Be liberated to write your story: separate from the expectation of others, separate from what everyone else is doing. Be you. journey

One thought on “How to Quit Worrying About Life

Leave a Reply

