Humour is Happiness-On-Purpose.

Image

As people, we’re all different. What makes us different is our likes and dislikes, our interests, our hobbies, our mannerisms and behaviours.

Some of us like tea, others prefer coffee, some love Marmite, others hate it, some are Team Edward, others Team Jacob. Some of us like sports, others prefer music, some prefer solitude, others are always at a party.

We all have a different sense of humour, too. Slapstick, dry, black, sarcastic, satire. Isn’t it funny how laughing is contagious? A type of humour definitely doesn’t always translate in to different cultures. When I lived in America, I had to watch my sarcasm, because they can be more likely to take it seriously.

Gelotology is the study of laughter and its affects on the body. Laughter has actually been recommended as medicine for the body. It alleviates depression, stress and pain.

I love how laughter connects people. The best memories of my life are the ones where I was in hysterics with my friends, usually over nothing, but the laughter just kept coming in waves. My favourite laugh is when I can’t move or even breathe, I’m just silently exerting, then suddenly my body cries for air and I wrench it in. I was at a Michael McIntyre show, and he told all the people that laugh like that to leave, because silent laughter is useless!

My friend at school used to silent laugh all the time, and her face would get redder and redder, and all the while her nostrils would be violently flaring in and out at ferocious speed.

Talking of comedians, we had Julian Clary come in to my cafe this week! He’s playing the Spirit of the Beans in Jack and the Beanstalk. He’s a really nice guy 🙂

Anyway, I know too many people that suffer from depression, and fair- circumstances have been terrible and the world is full of tragedies.

But I maintain it as a core mindset of mine, that one can always choose to be happy. We are powerful people, are we not? We alone control our thought-life. So it’s our choice if we respond to a situation with happiness, or we don’t. I can tell that something’s gone awry if I say something that’s positive, and I’m met with a response of self-defense, or bitterness. It shows me that too long you’ve let other people decide what your life is going to look like, instead of realising it is always your choice. It is always your choice to get bitter, or build a fresh determination. It’s always your choice to expect people to be and do good, or expect them to be attacking you, or getting at you for something.

For example, mentioning no names, somebody I know was getting more and more stressed under their workload. I asked, “What have you been doing all day?” Now, instead of choosing to believe I was being kind, they took it as an accusation, ie, “What on earth have you been doing all day?!”

I hate it when people use their thought patterns to put me down, or use their perceptions to make me out as a bad person. If I make the effort to expect good things from people, then I desire it in return.

So, I wasn’t settling for somebody thinking less of me, so I took a stand and said, “Actually, I’m asking you what you’ve been doing, so that I can offer help.”

Ooh, they ate their words then! See, we get ideas in our heads about what people think about us, but often, it’s not the case.

It’s far less disappointing to expect good, and choose happiness as a response. If you expect bad, bad will be drawn to you, or at the very least you’ll only see the bad. Like when I’m having a bad day, I’ll add up all the bad things. Even though, actually good things happened that day too. But if I’ve chosen to be in a bad mood, I’ll only see the bad.

If we have chosen to think people don’t enjoy us, we won’t be enjoyable company, and lo and behold people won’t enjoy being around us. If we choose to think that we’re fun to be around, we will be fun to be around.

We listened to Michael McIntyre’s autobiography this summer on our road trip round California. We felt like he was part of the fam by the end! He spent a lot of his youth trying to find something he was good at, so that he could make a career. And then it dawned on him, he was good at making people laugh, so he pursued it. He didn’t become famous overnight, and he spent many a gig telling jokes and anecdotes and got poor response. But he still chose to think that he’s good at making people laugh. And look at him now. Even though his experience might have said that he wasn’t funny enough, he believed otherwise.

What are you good at? What do you like about yourself? What makes you laugh? What do you do that makes others laugh?

One thought on “Humour is Happiness-On-Purpose.

Leave a Reply

