Roughing Up Old Frames

Inspired by a Uni Art Show, called “Change the World. Or Go Home.” For me, home is above 😉

So: shabby chic, vintage, old furniture restoration, they’re all “in” right now. It’s all part of the Green Generation of Reuse. Reduce. Recycle.

I admit I was inspired by my cafe. We were decorating the wall with 1920s frames, posters and signs, and I got home and had one of those midnight creativity moments.

It’s not hard to do, at all really. Especially if you keep it simple. You just need:

  • charity shop/thrift store/ mother’s attic old picture frames
  • paint
  • wide dry, rough bristle brush
  • sand paper

Once you’ve painted the frames, you need to find something to put in them. I didn’t have photos big enough, and I wanted to keep with the theme of my room. It’s sky blue and cream, with white roses everywhere- white rose fairy lights, frames, candles, soaps, lanterns, door hooks, you name it I have it. Also, whenever I make anything papery, I have to include book pages: old well-read, 25 cent thrift store finds. Or my mum’s old romance novels 😉
For the two smaller frames, I used a map, and made it look old, and for the large central frame, I will collage book pages, then draw a rose in black ink.

Now my wall in covered in antique frames! I even painted one with chalk board paint!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Roughing Up Old Frames

  1. watch new girl online now says:

    Having read this I thought it was very enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

