Bloat Free Bread

4

January 28, 2013 by Naomi

1

In the world of limitless diets and fads, the only thing I’ve found to be effective in de-bloating my belly, is cutting out carbs. I can drop half a stone in 2 days, if I focus on proteins and vegetables.

But… now that I’m living in England again, I can’t resist bread. It was easy in America, because so many bread brands contained ridiculous amounts of ingredients, including the devil food: High Fructose Corn Syrup. I like savoury breakfasts, thankyou very much! My first morning, I had toast with ham and cheese. The bread was sweet, the butter sweet, the cheese like rubber, and the ham like plastic. Needless to say, England wins on that one.

So, being a bread lover means having a bloated belly. Not attractive!! And gluten free tends to be a great alternative for many, as it’s easier to digest. I still had spelt flour from my trip over to the US, but you can get it in any supermarket. I also had Wheat Germ, which is full of nutrients and minerals, and it’s the part that gets refined out of most wheat products. And I had ground Flax Seed. I used to have the whole seeds in my spinach-berry-almond milk smoothies. But the ground seed version is a great alternative for eggs in baking. They’re packed with the good fats, omega 3s and fiber. If you have chickens, through flax seed in with their food!

Here’s what I did:

1-¾ cup warm water
1 Tbsp dry yeast (I used 1 and a half mini packets, which made 3 tsp (=1 tbsp)
2 tsp sea salt (optional)
2 tbs vegetable oil. I used sunflower oil
3-½ cups spelt flour
½ cup wheat germ
¼ cup ground flax seed meal

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Or- If you don’t own a bread maker:

Knead on lightly floured surface until smooth and elastic. Shape and put in oiled loaf pan. Let rise until doubled (about an hour).

Bake at 350 degrees fahrenheit for 45 to 50 minutes or until done.

Cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes, run knife along edges of loaf and remove from pan. Finish cooling on rack before slicing.

4 thoughts on “Bloat Free Bread

  1. Aimee says:

    I don’t mean to be rude, this looks delicious, but it is absolutely not gluten free! Spelt, which is a type of wheat, and wheat germ both contain gluten. Maybe are confused about what gluten is and what contains gluten?

    • Naomi says:

      Ah, you know what, you’re correct. I learnt that I could eat spelt because it isn’t as heavy in the digestive system as regular wheat. But it does still contain gluten. What flour can I use as completely gluten free??

      • Aimee says:

        There are a lot of flours that are gluten free, (sorghum, rice, oat, and millet are just a few) but none of them will behave like gluten-containing flours. You have to add some type of binder like xanthan gum or a chia seed slurry for it to hold together. Gluten free baking is a whole different world than traditional baking. You would be extremely disappointed if you tried to just sub gluten free flours in your recipe.
        I just didn’t want someone making this mistakenly thinking it was gluten free. It’s not fun being “glutened” accidentally!

      • Naomi says:

        Hmm interesting. Gee, I’d have no idea where to purchase chia seed slurry from! So is spelt still a wheat?

Leave a Reply

about Naomi May

Naomi May Leppitt

Naomi May Leppitt

Crafter. Designer. Life Coach.

Lover of people and places and all creativity. 

Pursues truth beyond reality.

Finds a funny story in everyday.

Believes everyone is beautiful and worth loving.

Believes every thing has a story worth hearing. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

